Subclasses of the General Skilled Migration Visa

There are four skilled migration categories:

The Points Test

You will need to score at least sixty (60) points on the Points Test to be eligible for an invitation to apply for a visa under the GSM program.

In the Points Test, points are given for the following:

The SkillSelect Expression of Interest (EOI) Process

Before lodging your visa application, you are required to submit an Expression of Interest. The person applying must be younger than 50 years of age. You will also need to be skilled and qualified for an occupation listed on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL). You must have Competent English and hold a valid Positive Skills Assessment. If you are deemed eligible, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) will then issue an invitation to you based on the information you have provided on the EOI. You will be able to update your EOI with new information up to your invitation to apply for a visa is issued.

Every year, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection determines an occupation ceiling. This means that only a certain number of applicants with a particular occupation will receive an invitation in any program year.

It is important to note that your EOI is not a visa application. Lodging an EOI will not automatically grant you a bridging visa for you to remain in Australia. You will only be granted a bridging visa if you are invited to apply for a visa. You will also need to submit a valid visa application while you are in Australia.

Contact us for more information on your visa eligibility. Please call us at +61 413 910 985 or drop us an email at